The best AI Spanish tutor in 2026: eight options, compared honestly

There is no single best AI Spanish tutor, only the best one for what you need next. Here is how eight real options correct you, what they cost as of October 2026, and where each one falls short.

Updated October 2026.

A note first: Juntos publishes this page and is one of the eight options. We have tried to be fair, say where other apps are the better choice, and state our own weaknesses plainly. Prices were checked on 16 October 2026 from each company's pricing page, help centre or its own US App Store listing. They change often and vary by country, so check before you pay.

TL;DR: the best pick for each need

If you wantTry
A free daily habit that keeps you coming backDuolingo (free; Max for AI roleplay)
A structured, teacher-designed course with an AI speaking add-onBabbel
To speak out loud a lot, in short guided drillsSpeak
Friendly face-to-face style chats with an AI avatarPraktika
Lots of conversation modes in one appTalkpal
AI chat plus reading and listening from real contentLangua
A cheap or free do-it-yourself optionChatGPT voice, with a good prompt
Every sentence scored and corrected with the reason, and your repeat mistakes turned into the next sessionJuntos
Practising with a partner or friend alongside the AIJuntos

If you want a human to talk to, none of these is a substitute: AI works best as practice between or alongside lessons with a teacher.

How we compared them

Comparison table

AppHow the AI gives feedbackSpanish varietyPrice (as of October 2026)
DuolingoExplain My Answer after some exercises (free since January 2026); Max adds AI Roleplay and Video CallTeaches ustedes, not vosotrosFree; Super from US$12.99/month on the US App Store; Max: check current pricing
BabbelBabbel Speak (beta) AI conversations with feedback on tasks and vocabulary afterwardsSeparate Mexican and European Spanish coursesUS$17.99/month or US$89.99/year (US App Store); website sales often lower
SpeakSpeak Tutor conversation partner; Premium Plus targets your frequent mistakesNot stated on its help pagesPremium US$17.99/month or US$83.99/year; Premium Plus US$39.99/month or US$164.99/year (US App Store)
PraktikaAI avatars correct grammar during conversation, with explanationsAvatars from Mexico and SpainCheck current pricing
TalkpalReal-time feedback across many chat and call modesNot statedFree basic plan (10 minutes a day); Premium US$19.99/month or US$119.99/year (US App Store)
LanguaChoose written or spoken, subtle or explicit corrections; report after each chatSeveral dialects in settingsPro Communicate US$19.99/month or US$149.99/year; Pro Unlimited US$29.99/month or US$199.99/year (US App Store)
ChatGPT voiceWhatever you ask it for; nothing is tracked unless you set it upWhichever you ask forFree tier with limits; Go US$8/month; Plus US$20/month (US)
JuntosEvery sentence scored out of 100 with the fix and why; repeat mistakes go to an Error BankLatin American (tú, ustedes)7 days of everything free, no card; then free tier, or Pro US$8/month or US$59/year

The eight options, one by one

Duolingo (and Duolingo Max)

Best for: building a daily habit for free. It is excellent at getting you to show up, and its Spanish course teaches ustedes rather than vosotros, which suits Latin America. AI feedback: Explain My Answer, which gives a short grammar or vocabulary explanation after select exercises, became free for everyone in January 2026. Duolingo Max adds Roleplay and Video Call with Lily, an AI conversation partner; Duolingo has said it is moving Video Call into the cheaper Super tier, so check which plan includes it where you live. Price: free; Super from US$12.99 a month on the US App Store; Max: check current pricing (as of October 2026). Honest weakness: most lessons ask you to recognise and assemble Spanish rather than produce it from scratch, so many learners find conversation still hard after a long streak.

Babbel

Best for: a structured course built by language experts, with clear grammar notes. Babbel offers two Spanish courses: European Spanish (up to C1, per its help centre) and Mexican Spanish (up to B1). AI feedback: Babbel Speak is an AI conversation partner, still labelled beta, where you can slow down or translate replies and get feedback on your tasks and vocabulary at the end. Babbel says it is free for registered users for now. Babbel Live, with human teachers, is sold separately. Price: US$17.99 a month or US$89.99 a year for Mexican Spanish on the US App Store; the website frequently runs sales that are cheaper (as of October 2026). Honest weakness: the Mexican Spanish course stops at B1, and the AI conversation feature is newer and lighter than the core course.

Speak

Best for: talking out loud a lot, through guided lessons, situational roleplay and Speak Tutor, a real-time conversation partner. AI feedback: Speak Tutor gives instant feedback in conversation; Premium Plus adds unlimited personalised lessons and a study plan that targets your frequent mistakes. Price: Premium US$17.99 a month or US$83.99 a year; Premium Plus US$39.99 a month or US$164.99 a year on the US App Store (as of October 2026). Spanish variety: Speak's help pages do not say; try the trial with the accent you care about. Honest weakness: the mistake-targeting features sit in the more expensive tier, and there is no permanent free plan, only a trial.

Praktika

Best for: the feel of talking to a person. Praktika uses animated AI avatars; its App Store listing names Spanish tutors from Mexico and Spain. AI feedback: the avatars correct grammar during the conversation and offer explanations, with pronunciation and fluency feedback. Price: check current pricing; the App Store lists several Premium plans and offers. Honest weakness: it is conversation first, so if you want a clear grammar path from A1 to C1 you may need something alongside it.

Talkpal

Best for: variety. Talkpal has call, sentence and word modes, roleplays, characters, debates and more, across over 130 languages. AI feedback: real-time, personalised feedback; its pricing page lists AI daily feedback under Premium. Price: a free basic plan with a 10-minute daily limit; Premium US$19.99 a month or US$119.99 a year on the US App Store, and prices on the website vary by location (as of October 2026). Honest weakness: covering so many languages means less that is specific to Spanish, and it does not say which variety of Spanish its voices use.

Langua (from LanguaTalk)

Best for: intermediate learners who want AI conversation plus real podcasts and videos. AI feedback: flexible: written or spoken corrections, subtle or explicit, a report after each conversation, and drills built from your recurring mistakes. Several dialects are available in settings. Price: Pro Communicate US$19.99 a month or US$149.99 a year; Pro Unlimited US$29.99 a month or US$199.99 a year on the US App Store (as of October 2026). Web and Android subscriptions have a 30-day money-back guarantee. Honest weakness: the free tier is very limited (3 minutes of calls a day), and it is pricier than most.

ChatGPT voice (do it yourself)

Best for: self-directed learners on a budget. Ask it to speak Mexican Spanish, correct every mistake and explain each one. AI feedback: only as good as your instructions; it can drift into English or stop correcting. Price: a free tier with usage limits; Go US$8 a month and Plus US$20 a month in the US (as of October 2026). Honest weakness: no course, no level path and no record of your mistakes unless you build that yourself.

Juntos

Best for: getting every sentence corrected with the reason, and for learning with a partner. Juntos is an AI Spanish course for English-speaking adults that teaches neutral Latin American Spanish (tú, ustedes, phrases used in Mexico). AI feedback: every sentence you write or say to the AI tutor is graded out of 100, with the fix and why. Recurring mistakes go to an Error Bank, and the next session is built from them. There is a 12-track program from A1 to C1, AI chat scenarios (café, market, doctor, job interview), AI voice calls, games, and practice with a friend. Price: 7 days of everything, no card. After that, grammar courses, games, friend chat, the Error Bank, review cards and free tools such as the grammar checker stay free. Pro (the program, AI tutor and chat, voice calls, drills, translations) is US$8 a month or US$59 a year (as of October 2026), with 14-day money-back on the first payment. Honest weaknesses: Juntos is new and small (launched in 2026), with a smaller library than the big apps. It is a web app with no iOS or Android store app yet (it works in your phone's browser and can be added to your home screen). It is Spanish only and Latin American only, so not for a move to Spain. No human teachers, no offline mode, and speech recognition can struggle with strong accents.

How to choose

Try two apps for a week each with the same goal, such as describing your weekend in five sentences, and keep the one whose feedback you actually use.

Want every sentence corrected with the reason?

That's what Juntos does: every sentence you write or say, graded out of 100 with the fix and why. 7 days free, no card.

Start your free trial

Questions people ask

What is the best AI Spanish tutor in 2026?

It depends on what you need. Duolingo is best for a free habit, Speak for speaking volume, Babbel for a structured course, and Juntos for getting every sentence corrected with the reason.

Do I still need a human teacher if I use an AI tutor?

Ideally, yes. AI is useful for daily practice and instant corrections between or alongside lessons, but a human teacher notices things an app cannot and keeps you accountable in a different way.

Which AI Spanish apps teach Latin American Spanish?

Juntos teaches Latin American Spanish only. Babbel has a separate Mexican Spanish course, Duolingo teaches ustedes rather than vosotros, and Praktika and Langua let you choose an accent or dialect.

Is ChatGPT good for practising Spanish?

It can be, if you tell it exactly what to do, such as correcting every mistake and explaining why. It has no course or mistake tracking, so you need to bring the structure yourself.

How much does an AI Spanish tutor cost?

As of October 2026, most paid plans run from about US$8 to US$40 a month, with yearly plans much cheaper per month. Prices vary by country and change often, so check each app before you pay.